Please note: this forum is outdated and is available only in read-only mode.
New forum can be found here

I have transfered 20 old user accounts to the new forum,
but they still need to reset password with a registered email.
The list of transfered users can be found here

[ ENG forum · RUS forum ]  
  Welcome Guest [ Register · Log in ] [ New messages · Forum rules · Search ]  

Page 1 of 11
Archive - read only
Old Official Forum » Projects » Video Thumbnails Maker by Scorp » no thumbnails for AVI (working then not working)
no thumbnails for AVI
spikeDate: Thursday, 2011-01-13, 7:28 PM | Message # 1
Group: Users
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
With absolutely no changes in my codecs, VTM has gone from as dependable
as I could ever hope for, to only being able to work with MPG videos. I wasn't
too keen to change codecs when all seemed to work fine, but to try to fix
this problem, I followed the suggestions in other threads and installed CCCP
codec Pack. That didn't help either. The dialog is still saying bad file or codec.
Could these failures possibly have anything to do with a windows update
within Vista? I ask this because this is the absolute only thing installed that
could possibly have to do with VTM not working. I use this program frequently
and rely on it heavily and would appreciate any help I can receive to get it
functioning properly again.
thanks
 
suu-designDate: Thursday, 2011-01-13, 11:47 PM | Message # 2
Admin
Group: Administrators
Messages: 593
Status: Offline
codecs have settings...
some app changed that settings and now you have problems with it.
 
spikeDate: Friday, 2011-01-14, 5:41 PM | Message # 3
Group: Users
Messages: 2
Status: Offline
Has there been reports of any other problems after recent updates to Vista?
 
suu-designDate: Saturday, 2011-01-15, 3:38 AM | Message # 4
Admin
Group: Administrators
Messages: 593
Status: Offline
Try to use specialized codec-packs for Vista.
 
ronthaiDate: Thursday, 2011-05-12, 4:46 AM | Message # 5
Group: Users
Messages: 7
Status: Offline
Did anyone get to solve the issue with avi yet?
I have used VTM more then a year now and suddenly today all avi files fail.
I use XP, tried the codecs well nothing helps

Suggestions anybody.

 
suu-designDate: Tuesday, 2011-05-24, 2:00 PM | Message # 6
Admin
Group: Administrators
Messages: 593
Status: Offline
Try reinstall your codec-pack and reset all settings to default.
It it will not help - try to use another codec-pack.
 
WilliamssonDate: Saturday, 2012-08-11, 6:20 AM | Message # 7
Group: Users
Messages: 1
Status: Offline
Hello, I have the same issue. However I am using windows 7 64bit. I used Video Thumbnail maker for a long time now and never had a issue then all the sudden it stopped doing most .avi files. I did all the above removed and re-installed k-lite using all the default settings just as I had when Video thumbnails maker worked and did .avi files. I remove k-lite tried cccp making sure to use the recommended settings as shown on this board. I even removed it and tried shark codecs still will not do .avi. I do not think the issue is a codec pack or Video thumbnails maker. Something in windows updates is more to blame. As 1. I did test it on another pc with a fresh install of windows 7 it worked I installed all windows updates it stopped doing .avi. I installed all the updates together and have no idea which one may have caused the issue. and 2. MTN still can do .avi thumbnails this only seems to effect Video thumbnails maker. So I hope someone with more computer knowledge can figure this out as I hate Mtn and Love Video thumbnail Maker..

Added (2012-08-11, 6:20 AM)
---------------------------------------------
http://suu-design.ucoz.com/forum/12-267-1 My bad just saw this post it too fixed the issue!! biggrin Now I can dump MTN !!!

 
Captain_CreampieDate: Monday, 2012-08-13, 9:15 PM | Message # 8
Group: Users
Messages: 4
Status: Offline
I'm a Win 7x64 user with the same issue too. Strangely enough, I can create thumbnails if I change the file extension to MP4 or WMV.

It's a PITA to change file extensions back and forth!

Call me confused if you must, but I do not understand how a codec could work with one extension but not avi.
 
suu-designDate: Wednesday, 2012-08-15, 11:19 AM | Message # 9
Admin
Group: Administrators
Messages: 593
Status: Offline
yeah, that advice is good
http://suu-design.ucoz.com/forum/12-267-1
 
ScarDate: Wednesday, 2012-08-29, 3:00 PM | Message # 10
Group: Users
Messages: 5
Status: Offline
I was having this problem too using K-Lite mega pack. To fix it go to Start, All Programs, K-Lite Codec Pack, Codec Tweak Tool, Preferred Splitters (x86) (x64) and set .AVI to Haali.

edit: also using win7 64


Message edited by Scar - Wednesday, 2012-08-29, 3:01 PM
 
Old Official Forum » Projects » Video Thumbnails Maker by Scorp » no thumbnails for AVI (working then not working)
Page 1 of 11
Search:

Make a free website with uCoz
SUU Design © Copyright 2007-2013